Hamish Tait Trophy

This bonspiel competition was introduced eight years ago to mark the contribution made by Hamish to each of the four participating clubs.  Two rinks from Chartered Surveyors, Merchiston, Penicuik, and Watsonian, assembled on Saturday afternoon to contest the event, with each club rink playing a single end against each of the six rinks from the opposing clubs.  The winning club to be determined on aggregate score.  The line-up for Penicuik 1 was Tom Alexander, Dave Carr, Jim Cowper, and Mike Mauchline; the line-up for Penicuik 2 was Ken Hunter, Iain Scott, Reg Dunbar, and Kirsten Mauchline.

The match was played in the customary friendly but competitive fashion.  Penicuik 1 scored a total of 8 shots (+5) whilst Penicuik 2 scored 6 shots (+6), with Iain Scott skipping the last three ends.  The aggregate score by Watsonian matched Penicuik on a total of 14 shots, but their shot difference of +7 was inferior to that of Penicuik (+11), leaving Penicuik as winners of the trophy. The assembled company enjoyed a refreshment at the bar before partaking in a meal together in the dining room of Edinburgh Curling Club.

A special vote of thanks goes to Margaret Carr, Linda Hunter, Alister McDonald, and Vic Ramage who became ‘Chartered Surveyors’ for the afternoon.