Monthly Archives: February 2020

Mid Season Bonspiel 2019-20

Mid Season Bonspiel Saturday 15th February

23 seasoned curlers plus a surprise guest, Stef (an Oban scallop diver landbound due to Storm Dennis) met on Saturday to contest this year’s Mid Season Bonspiel. The ladies skipped as is the norm in this competition with the usual Skip men  playing as lead. This proved to be a bit of a challenge for some of them who struggled to get their lead stones in the requested position. However it was a well fought contest overall with the highest score for an individual end attained by Janette Lambie’s rink who took a 5 from the opposition in the fourth game.

After each team had played 6 ends we had an outright winner in Christine Hope’s rink of Jan Stuart, Ian Neil and Reg Dunbar with a score of +4, closely followed by Jean Noble’s rink on +3, Liz Anderson’s on +2. Janette’s on -1, Barbara Gillespie’s on -3 and, propping everyone up, Margaret Carr’s rink on -4.

Bonspiel Winners

Not quite the winners

This was a fun afternoon’s curling finished off with a lovely meal after which President Liz asked Jim Cowper, arrayed in his many medals, to present the prizes. Many thanks to Jim and Margaret Cowper for acting as sponsors and also to Christine for arranging the meal and the prizes, and of course to everyone who played.

Group photo

Jean Noble

DAFS Friendly

DAFS Social Game 7th February 2020

Jim Cowper, Dave Carr, Keith Morris and skip Dave Anderson stepped up for this social game against a DAFS rink of Jill Gillard, Margaret Miller, Alistair Henry and skip David Lindsay.

With last stone advantage DAFS took a single in the first end with Penicuik replying with two shots in the second. DAFS again scored a single in the third with Penicuik drawing their last stone to gain a further two shots in the fourth. Looking good for a steal in the fifth following a well judged hit and roll by Keith, Alistair replied with an unassailable draw to the four-foot resulting in another single for DAFS. They then went on to steal a single in the sixth meaning that we went to the last end peels where, following two excellent lead stones from octogenarian Jim,  we gained the advantage coming out overall winners by 9 shots to 4.

There was some very good curling from both rinks throughout a very close game and we thank DAFS Curling Club for the invitation to play in this very enjoyable encounter.

Report from Dave Anderson

Province Bonspiel

As in previous years, Penicuik Curling Club fielded three teams in the Brewers Dolphin Province Bonspiel on Monday 3rd February.

First on the ice at 10am against Ford Ladies was a rink skipped by Ronnie Hope with Dave Anderson, Roger Scott and Liz Anderson supporting. Ford Ladies found their weight straight off scoring a single in the first end. Penicuik had an opportunity to gain 5 shots in the next end but missed the take-out to lose another single in this and then the  next so three shots down after third end. However Penicuik then got their game together to score 7 in next 4 ends. So a positive result for Ronnie’s rink  winning 7-3.   Penicuik  score  +4.

Next on the ice at 2pm was Andrew Lambie’s rink of Margaret and Dave Carr, and David Gillespie. The teams were level at 5 stones each after 4 ends but Mid Calder were strong opposition and pulled away in the next three ends resulting in a win for Mid Calder 15-5.  Penicuik score  -10.

At 6pm Iain Scott skipped a rink of ‘youth and enthusiasm’ including Robert Beaton, Elaine Lambie and Kirsty McWilliam against Oxenfoord. This was a good match according to Iain but Oxenfoord were strong and scored a 5 at one end which killed off the game resulting in another loss 3-11 and  Penicuik scoring  -8.   The overall average score for Penicuik was therefore -4.6.

The Brewers Dolphin Bonspiel Competition winners were DAFS with an overall average score of +6.77, closely followed by the runners-up Pentland Ladies on +6.50.

Finally, the winners of the Colin Black Trophy for the biggest margin in one game were Currie and Balerno on +13.

Many thanks to everyone who represented Penicuik CC in this annual Province competition.

Jean Noble

Merchiston Team Points 2019-20

The annual Team Points match against Merchiston Curling Club took place on Sunday 2nd February with Penicuik represented by Dave Anderson, Dave Carr, David Gillespie, Ronnie Hope, Ken Hunter, Alex Moir, Keith Morris and Iain Scott.

Penicuik got off to a good start by gaining 19 points and a 9 point advantage in the first discipline, but Merchiston rallied and by the third discipline the gap was reduced to 2 points. The stalwarts of Penicuik then focused on the task and the gap was increased at every further discipline except the penultimate one with the final result over eight disciplines being a win for Penicuik with a score of 105 – 85.

Iain accepts trophy from Archie

As in our Club Points the scores were lower than usual.

Top scorers on the night for Penicuik were Alex Moir (18), Dave Anderson (17) and Keith Morris (16) and for Merchiston, John Jacobs (16), Ruth Addinal (14), and Jim Cannon (13).

Following another excellent night of competition and fellowship we adjourned to the bar for well-earned refreshments courtesy of our Honorary President Jim Cowper, sporting his 50 year medal, who having overseen the competition gave us his frank assessment of the evening’s proceedings.

Socialising after the match

Many thanks to all those who took part and especially to Jim who has taken over the Hamish Tait mantle.

Results by Discipline

Report by Dave Anderson