Category Archives: External

Rink Championship Semi-final

Penicuik met Gogar Park on Saturday morning (19 Jan) to contest a place in the Murrayfield qualifier final.  The Penicuik team was Andrew Lambie, Dave Anderson, Jim Ramsay, and Ken Hunter.

First blood went to Penicuik with a nice three in the first end.  Gogar responded with a three, then stole a single.  Andrew’s team were not firing on all cylinders, and Gogar took another three, and then a single.  Andrew drew a shot in to take a single in the sixth end to make the score 8-4 in favour of Gogar Park.  On the day, our opponents played more consistently than we did, so good luck to them in the final, and the national playoffs at Forfar in early March.

Rink Championship

Penicuik met Midcalder in the first round of the competition on Sunday afternoon (9 Dec).  The Penicuik team was skipped by Andrew Lambie, with Dave Anderson, Jim Ramsay, and Ken Hunter at Lead (an eleventh hour Sub for an unwell Dave Carr).

Midcalder applied considerable pressure in the opening two ends and only well judged final shots by our Skip held them to singles.  Penicuik rallied in the third end to take a two, then  Midcalder worked a single in the four end to go 3-2 up.  Penicuik tied the game with a single at the fifth, and went on to steal a two at the sixth, followed by a single at the seventh to end up winners 6-3.

A good game for us, played in the appropriate spirit by both sides.  Penicuik will meet Corstorphine in the next round on Sunday 6 January (12.00pm).

District Medal 2017-18

Sunday 18th February:  PENICUIK v FORFAR

The two Penicuik rinks had a torrid time of it against two strong Forfar rinks in the District Medal match at Murrayfield on Sunday afternoon; it is fair to say that the better side won. 
The Vice-President’s rink of Jim Ramsay, Dave Anderson, Liz Anderson and Andrew Lambie kept the opposition at bay for most of their game, but the consistency of the Forfar four eventually prevailed and they ran out winners by seven shots to three.
The President’s rink faired even worse against a Forfar rink who played almost every stone to perfection. Iain Scott, Robert Beaton, Roger Scott and Ronnie Hope had some very unlucky losses of handle, and came so close to taking at least two more ends, but they were never really in the race. Iain’s beautifully controlled final shot to take a two spat the final end spared  some of their blushes, but overall the opposition were in crushing form to take the game by eight shots (10-2).

Overall, a loss by twelve shots and a disappointing day out for Penicuik, but our sincere congratulations to Forfar who were magnanimous in their win and great fun to be with throughout the day.

Ronnie Hope

Strathcona Cup 2018

The Canadian Tour arrived in Edinburgh in the final week of January to play Edinburgh Area.  The tourists had amassed a high score in their previous games throughout Scotland, so it was unlikely that the Strathcona Cup would retained by Scotland.  Edinburgh Area (East Lothian, Midlothian, and Peeblesshire Provinces) fielded 4 Teams on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings and afternoons to Play against the Canadian North Tour team, and 4 teams on Thursday morning to play against the Canadian South Tour team.

Jim Ramsay was the flag bearer for the home side in the morning parade of teams on Tuesday Morning.  He went on to play with Colin Baxter, President of Edinburgh Curling Club, John Stevenson, and Malcolm Patrick, and this team enjoyed an 11-5 win.  On Tuesday afternoon, a Penicuik rink of Ken Hunter, John Jacobs, Iain Scott, and Dave Carr took to the ice.  A good position they established in the first end was total wiped out by the Canadian opposition, and all that was left was a draw.  A fair draw was achieved, and protected, but the Canadian Skip drew to the four foot to take the end.  Penicuik replied with a single at the second end, and the game ended level at two all after four ends when the brooms were stacked for a refreshment.  After the break Penicuik stole three consecutive singles to go into the last end 5-2 up.  The Canadians almost recovered the lost ground, but a split in the house with our last stone forced them to take a single, final score 5-3.  On Thursday morning Roger Scott played in a Peebles rink which narrowly lost their game by 2 shots (7-9).

The home players enjoyed a dinner at Myreside on Wednesday evening with the Tourists, where a good meal and a few refreshments were shared.

Finally, thanks go to Roger Scott for his work on the Organising Committee, and to Aileen Beaton who was co-opted onto the Committee to use her profession skills in Media and Communications.

Well done to the Canadian Tourists who took the Strathcona Cup back to Canada; the overall result being Canada 1593-Scotland 1268.


Photographs can be viewed on the Gallery Page.

Merchiston Team Points Match

Our forces were marshaled for the annual campaign against our friends from Merchiston on Sunday evening (28 Jan).  the troops making up our battalion were Craig Brown, Dave Carr, Reg Dunbar, Ken Hunter, John Jacobs, Alex Moir, Jim Ramsay, and Iain Scott.

After the smoke had cleared from the opening salvos (Striking), our artillerymen had failed to established their customary dominance.  Worse was to come with the encounters on difficult terrain in trying to seize the initiative at Inwicking; our opponents had succeeded in establishing the forward area and a 6 point lead.  Our men came back at them to recover some of the lost ground by gaining 4 points at the Draw, only to be thrust back by a counter attack at Guarding.  Merchiston took the initiative at Chap & Lie, to increase their overall lead.  A rally by the Penicuik men at Raising  give some hope that the day could be saved, but alas it was not to be and our worthy opponents left the field of battle with a 121-114 victory.

The two teams joined together for a refreshment in the bar and to view the results of past encounters.   The Merchiston President Avril Anderson was presented with the trophy and her team congratulated on their fine win.

Top scorers for Merchiston were John Addinall (22), David Cunningham (22), and Avril Anderson (19), the top scorers for Penicuik were Jim Ramsay (20), Ken Hunter (19), and John Jacobs (16).  


Swan & Rink

Swan Trophy

Penicuik met Currie & Balerno in the semi-final of this double rink knockout competition on Friday (26 Jan).  The Penicuik teams were (1) Andrew Lambie, Jim Ramsay, Alex Moir, and John Glidden; and (2) Dave Anderson, Ken Hunter, Dave Carr, and Craig Brown.

Penicuik got off to a good start with both teams playing well and taking early leads.  Team 1 arguably had the stiffer opposition but held their ground until the latter stages of the contest and finished  3-6 against.  Team 2 had established a 7 shot lead after 4 ends, but regrettably surrendered the same number of shots in the next 4 ends to end their game level, the overall contest went to the last stone.  Congratulations to our opponents on upping their game even more to beat Haddington in the final.

Rink Championship

Penicuik met Athlestaneford in the semi-final of the Rink Championship qualifier at Murrayfield on Saturday (27 Jan).  Our team was Jim Ramsay, Dave Anderson, Ken Hunter, and Andrew Lambie.

Athelstoneford exerted pressure in the first end, and only a well judged shot by Jim saved the day for Penicuik.  It turned out to be a very tight game, but Athelstaneford established a 4-3 lead after five ends, with the sixth end being the last end.  The Athelstaneford Skip played a stone just beyond the centre point of the pot lid, Jim responded with a draw to that stone to take shot, but unfortunately it was not quite locked in , and a fine strike by his opponent took the day for Athelstaneford (5-3).