Balfron Invitational Bonspiel

Dave Anderson (skip), President Jim Ramsay (third), Liz Anderson (second), and Janette Lambie (lead) travelled through to Braehead on Saturday 7th  March to take part in the annual Balfron Invitational Bonspiel, involving eight rinks including two from Balfron, and one each from Bearsden Ski Club, Uplawmoor, Troon Portland, Harlequins, Loch Ard and Penicuik.

This was a closely contested, ends then shots-up, competition which is played over two four end games before and after lunch. The outcome  was two rinks finishing on 7 ends, three on 8 ends and three on 9 ends. Harlequins were 3rd on 9 ends (+ 1 shot), Bearsden Ski Club (last year’s winners) were runners-up on 9 ends (+ 2 shot)s and Penicuik were winners on 9 ends (+ 5 shots); so a Penicuik rink won the Balfron Crook for the second time in the competition’s history having previously won it in 2010

‘Many thanks go to President Jean, organisers Grant and Eileen, and the members of Balfron Curling Club for a most enjoyable day. We look forward to welcoming them to the Gathering when the engraved Crook will be presented’. – Dave Anderson