Intermediate Points 2017-18

Nine members contested the medal for the Intermediate Points yesterday evening (13 March).   Seven disciplines were completed, with Wick & Curl In being omitted.  Craig Brown established a narrow lead from the early stages and managed to hold on to win the medal on 26 points.  Barbara Gillespie emerged from the chasing pack to finish second on 23 Points, and Vic Ramage came in third on 21 points.  Barbara, along with Janette Lambie and Jean Noble, scored at each of the disciplines played. 

Thirds League

In the Thirds League games this evening (Monday 12 March) Team Beaton had a win over Team Carr and thereby established themselves as league winners with one game still to play.

Congratulations to Robert and his team of Christine Hope, Barbara Gillespie, and Jim Hume.

Pairs 2017-18

The Pairs competition was played out on Sunday 11 March.  Teams Carr & Lambie, Hope & Moir, Hope & Ramage, and Lambie & Brown won through the preliminary skirmishes to go into the High Road.

In the Low Road, Hunter & Beaton beat Anderson & Ramsay, and Ramsay & Anderson beat Scott & Carr to reach the final.  Hunter & Beaton stole successive singles in the first three ends of the final to lead 3-0.  Ramsay & Anderson conceded when their fourth stone draw went through with Hunter & Beaton lying two at the front of the outer circle.

In the High Road, there was a tight tussle between  Hope & Moir and Carr  & Lambie with the advantage going to Hope & Moir in the fourth end.  In the other semi-final Hope & Ramage pressurised Lambie & Brown in the early ends but ultimately lost out in the fourth end.  Lambie & Brown took first blood in the final with a three in end one.  Hope & Moir responded with a single in the second end, but yielded a two to their opponents in the third.   Hope & Moir took another  single in the fourth end, and followed it up with a steal of two in the fifth end to go into the final end 4-5 down.  Lambie & Brown succeeded in setting up a strong position in the final end and prevailed to win the competition (7-4).

Historical Link

In late February Jean Allan of Dundee sent an enquiry to the Club via our web site.

I have a small curling stone that belong to my late father. It is inscribed – Presented by the Dowager Lady Clerk and on the base – Won by T Brown 1893. Wondered if you have information about this little stone.  Would be very grateful if you could let me know anything about it.

We were able to reply as follows;

The trophy that you hold was provided by the Dowager Lady Clerk for a Penicuik Curling Club competition played on 13 January 1893, probably on the Low Pond on Penicuik House Estate.  Four rinks played against each other on a knock-out basis, with the rink skipped by Thomas Tudhope winning.  The four members of that rink then played off at Points to establish an individual winner of the trophy.  Thomas Brown who played at Third in the rink was the eventual winner after an extra end at Striking.  Our minutes indicate that the trophy was presented the following day at Monks Burn, whilst the Club members were on route to play West Linton.

Mr Brown appears to have joined Penicuik Curling Club in 1883 and remained a member until 1900.  He became a Skip for some competitions and there are a number of specific references in our minutes particularly for the year 1892.  These minutes can be accessed via the History page of our web site.

Jean Allan subsequently replied to indicate that Thomas Brown was her grandfather, and that he had lived at Monks Burn Cottage, Nine Mile Burn. Mr Brown was born in 1847 and passed away in 1902 at the age of 54.  Another Thomas Brown, who was a member of the Club between 1824 and 1846, may be Jean’s great-grandfather. 

See photograph on Gallery Page

Re-arranged Games

Three Kettle Leagues games were call off due to adverse weather conditions on Wednesday 28 February.

The game between Team Dunbar and Team Ramsay has been re-scheduled for Friday 9 March (5.30pm).  The other two games (Lambie v Anderson, Hunter v Brown) will be played on part of the ice allocated for the Closing Bonspiel on Wednesday 28 March (5.30pm).

Second Points

The Second Points competition was played on Tuesday 20 February, with five members contesting the medal.  The ice was tricky but better than that for the Merchiston Team Points match, and probably than for the First Points.  There was time to include the tenth disciple, Outwicking, which is normally used as a decider in the case of a tie.  Ken Hunter established an early lead but was doggedly pursued by Dave Anderson.  A very strong performance over disciplines 8 & 9 allowed Craig Brown to pip Dave for second place by a single point.  Final scores Ken Hunter (48pts), Craig Brown (41pts), and Dave Anderson (40pts).

District Medal 2017-18

Sunday 18th February:  PENICUIK v FORFAR

The two Penicuik rinks had a torrid time of it against two strong Forfar rinks in the District Medal match at Murrayfield on Sunday afternoon; it is fair to say that the better side won. 
The Vice-President’s rink of Jim Ramsay, Dave Anderson, Liz Anderson and Andrew Lambie kept the opposition at bay for most of their game, but the consistency of the Forfar four eventually prevailed and they ran out winners by seven shots to three.
The President’s rink faired even worse against a Forfar rink who played almost every stone to perfection. Iain Scott, Robert Beaton, Roger Scott and Ronnie Hope had some very unlucky losses of handle, and came so close to taking at least two more ends, but they were never really in the race. Iain’s beautifully controlled final shot to take a two spat the final end spared  some of their blushes, but overall the opposition were in crushing form to take the game by eight shots (10-2).

Overall, a loss by twelve shots and a disappointing day out for Penicuik, but our sincere congratulations to Forfar who were magnanimous in their win and great fun to be with throughout the day.

Ronnie Hope